Thank You: 2016 Mayor's Lunch for Arts Champions

On behalf of His Worship Mayor Naheed Nenshi, Calgary Arts Development extends its thanks to everyone who made this year's Mayor's Lunch for Arts Champions a huge success.

The fourth annual event, organized by Calgary Arts Development and the Office of the Mayor, took place on March 16, 2016 for a sold-out crowd. More than 675 Calgarians from all sectors gathered to recognize and celebrate the many ways that they champion the arts in our city.

The event, hosted by Dave Kelly, featured a conversation with Mayor Naheed Nenshi and a Q&A session with lunch attendees about what it takes to create and present art in our city as well as what it takes to be an arts champion. Before the lunch, more than 150 Calgary artists under age 21 entertained attendees as part of the TELUS Youth Arts Showcase, which included music ensembles, ballet and hip hop dancers, and visual arts and multimedia installations. Champion sponsor of the Lunch was Strategic Group.

This year's recipients of the Cultural Leaders Legacy Artist Awards were announced through a video featuring interviews with award-winners and sponsors:

  • Clem Martini (ATB Financial Healing Through the Arts Award)
  • Tayebe Joodaki (Calgary Catholic Immigration Society New Canadian Artist Award)
  • Swallow-a-Bicycle (Colin Jackson and Arlene Strom Creative Placemaking Award)
  • Old Trout Puppet Workshop (Doug & Lois Mitchell Outstanding Calgary Artist Award)
  • Anton de Groot (Enbridge Emerging Artist Award)
  • Vicki Adams Willis (MacLachlan Community Beacon Award)
  • Quickdraw Animation (SANDSTONE City Builder Award)

Winners received a $5,000 cash prize, and Old Trout Puppet Workshop receives a residency at The Banff Centre as the winner of the Doug & Lois Mitchell Outstanding Calgary Artist Award. 

Each Legacy Award is funded by a contribution from a local philanthropist or organization with matching money from Calgary 2012, and is to be awarded annually with winners determined by a jury of peers. 

Thank you to Champion Sponsor Strategic Group, Youth Arts Showcase Sponsor TELUS and VIP Table Sponsor TD Bank Group.

Subscribe to Front page feed

City of Calgary

Calgary Arts Development is The City of Calgary's arts development authority.

Champion Sponsor:
TELUS Youth Arts Showcase Sponsor: